Knowledge Base

Home > Features > SSL/TLS data connection modes

Created
Modified

Print Article

Article 55

Switching between Private data and Clear data connection mode.

To switch between "Private Data" connection mode and "Clear Data" connection mode follow the steps below:

  1. Select Favorites > Edit Favorites from the SmartFTP menu. The Favorites window appears.
  2. From the Favorites window right click on the Favorite of interest and select Properties. The Properties dialog appears.
  3. Under the FTP > Connection option select SSL. From the "Data Connection Mode" on the SSL tab, you can click on the drop down option lists and select either of the two modes. Click on the OK button to save the changes.

The "Private Data" connection mode allows transferring of files in an encrypted mode. The "Clear Data" connection mode allows transferring of files in non-SSL mode. Nevertheless, it is highly recommended that Clear data mode be used instead of Private data mode being that the Private mode is a very slow method of transferring files.

Keywords
clear, private, connection, mode

Related Articles


Please choose 1 to 5 whether this article solves your problem.

1 No Help at all

5 Problem Solved

Saving...
Thank you for your feedback.

What do you think about this topic? Send feedback!