Disable Quick Connect

Hi,

I love SmartFTP, but Quick Connect is really getting on my nerves. I'm a software developer, and I connect to a dozen different FTP servers for various resources every day - most of them I will never revisit.

Can't I get SmartFTP to run in "dumb mode" or something? I really don't want it deciding what should be favorited and what shouldn't - my "Favorites" list is really a "history list" more than anything else... Favorites should only be for stuff that I personally like - not stuff that SmartFTP decides I should like on my behalf.

Is there any way to disable the auto-favoriting functionality? Please?

Thanks

Hello ..

This is by design. You can always delete the favorites in Quick Connect folder after a while. You can write a small .cmd script which automatically deletes the Quick Connect favorites folder when your computer starts:
rmdir /s "%AppData%\SmartFTP\Client 2.0\Favorites\Quick Connect"

Regards,
Mat

Can I please request that the ability to disable quick connect be added to the next release of SmartFTP?

I know it seems like something minor, but I actually dread connecting to a new FTP server with SmartFTP because of this... sounds lame, I know; and as a fellow software developer I know that users sometimes don't know what's good for them and ask for the most ridiculous things, but it would be really great if you could please, please add an option to disable this feature.

As I tried to explain in my last reply this is by design. We implemented it because it was the best way to our knowledge considering many factors (technical, user feedback, etc).

I also have provided a workaround which allows you to automatically delete the the favorites that are stored in Quick Connect folder.

Regards,
Mat

I understand that completely