I just upgraded to the v3.0.1016. My license, data files and settings are gone. How do I recover?
The upgrade does not delete anything. You can resend your license key at: https://www.smartftp.com/purchase/lost.php
But you might need to renew the maintenance of your license key to use the newest verison of SmartFTP.
If files are not deleted, why has C:\Documents and Settings\User\Application Data\SmartFTP\Client 2.0 disappeared from my hard drive after upgrading to the newest version today, but the folder and its files are in the backup of my hard drive that was taken last Friday?
I'm reverting to Version 2.0 until you've got version 3 sorted out...
SmartFTP does not delete this folder. There is not even a function implemented in SmartFTP which deletes a folder or the files stored there.