Local file != remote file after upload

Ok, crazy problem here ... I feel like it's a SmartFTP problem but I can't say for sure. I'm hoping maybe somebody has seen this in the past and can maybe offer assistance.

My situation is I'm a PHP developer. I develop on windows, my staging server and production servers are both remote Linux boxes.

What keeps happening to me, to the point where I'm afraid to make any production pushes because it breaks the site every time, is this. In my most recent example, I have a PHP file that ends with these lines:

// Clean up a keyword, remove trailing 's', then trailing apostrophes... add slahes

function Clean($w)

{

$w = stripslashes($w);

$w = preg_replace("/s$/", "", $w);

$w = preg_replace("/'$/", "", $w);

$w = addslashes($w);

$w = preg_replace("/[^a-zA-Z0-9]/", " ", $w);

$w = trim($w);

return $w;

}

?>

I run the code locally, no problem. I upload via SmartFTP to staging server, no problem. I upload via SmartFTP to remote server... problem. When I access any page that uses this script, which is processed before any output to the user, everything from the "o" in keyword (in the comments) until the end of the file is output, winding up before the <!DOCTYPE> tag, messing up my sessions and exposing code to the end user.

If I view source on the displayed page, I get:

ord, remove trailing 's', then trailing apostrophes... add slahes

function Clean($w)

{

$w = stripslashes($w);

$w = preg_replace("/s$/", "", $w);

$w = preg_replace("/'$/", "", $w);

$w = addslashes($w);

$w = preg_replace("/[^a-zA-Z0-9]/", " ", $w);

$w = trim($w);

return $w;

}

?><br />

<b>Warning</b>:  session_start(): Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /home/hcblcom/hcbl.com/SearchFunc.php:113) in <b>/home/hcblcom/hcbl.com/Obj/Session.php</b> on line <b>27</b><br />

<br />

<b>Warning</b>:  Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in <b>/home/hcblcom/hcbl.com/SearchFunc.php</b> on line <b>26</b><br />