Nothing shows on my homepage

Please help! I'm totally new at this, but thought I followed the SmartFTP tutorials, and everything happened exactly as they said with all the icons ending up in the remote browser window. BUT when I go the web address I used, I only get the message:

"Temporary homepage for account '...'
To replace this homepage, use your ftp account to replace the file "index.html" in your root directory. Note: your ftp user name is '...', and your ftp password is the password you supplied during the creation of your account".

I replaced the actual account and user names in the message with '...' for confidentiality reasons.

I'm using a grapevine web address and trying to upload a family tree web page output by the Legacy family history software. Maybe a bit complicated for a first attempt at a web page

You need to replace the index.html/index.htm/default.htm etc with your start page.

You need to replace the index.html/index.htm/default.htm etc with your start page.

Wow! Thanks for incredibly quick response! Unfortunately I don't know what or where those are. I only got this far because of the really excellent illustrated step by step tutorials.
Is there another tutorial with pictures that explains?

OK, trying to work it out. I can see things called "index html" and "index.htm" among all the stuff in the SmartFTP remote browser window, but nothing either there or in the "web" folder under "Legacy" in my C drive is called "Start page". Is that the front page I see when Legacy invites me to see my web page in my browser?

Thanks for quick initial response mb, but don't quite know what it means or what to do next. Guess you don't have time to explain? Maybe SmartFTP is too smart for me.

Try the following:
1. Delete the index.htm and index.html file on your server (in the Remote Browser)
2. Now refresh the root of your website in your browser. e.g. http://www.thisisyourpage.com/