SmartFTP Simple Problem

I'm really new at this and I am just trying to start a forum. I tried to upload a new theme to an SMF forums and it said: Searching for existing files and folders to find possible conflicts. It has been doing this a long time, so I searched on Google and foind a similar post here so I made an acount in order to make a post. In the post I found, the person with th problem was asked for the logs, so here they are:
[10:34:08] SmartFTP v4.0.1131.0
[10:34:09] Resolving host name "(my website)"
[10:34:10] Connecting to (an ip adress) Port: 21
[10:34:10] Connected to (my website)
[10:34:10] 220 Microsoft FTP Service
[10:34:10] USER
[10:34:10] 501 'USER ': Invalid number of parameters
[10:34:10] Active Help: https://www.smartftp.com/support/kb/51
[10:34:10] Client closed the connection.
[10:34:10] Connect failed. Waiting to retry (30s)...
[10:34:40] Connection attempt 2...
[10:34:40] Resolving host name "(my website)"
[10:34:40] Connecting to (ip adress) Port: 21
[10:34:41] Connected to (my website)
[10:34:41] 220 Microsoft FTP Service
[10:34:41] USER
[10:34:41] 501 'USER ': Invalid number of parameters
[10:34:41] Active Help: https://www.smartftp.com/support/kb/51
[10:34:41] Client closed the connection.
[10:34:41] Connect failed. Waiting to retry (30s)...
[10:35:11] Connection attempt 3...
[10:35:11] Resolving host name "(my website"
[10:35:11] Connecting to (ip adress) Port: 21
[10:35:11] Connected to (my website).
[10:35:11] 220 Microsoft FTP Service
And it keeps saying the same thing all the way to attempt 31.
What do I do to upload the theme so that I can change my forums theme?
Please Help Me!
--EDIT--
Ok, so I put A username and password at the top where it asks for one(I'm not sure what username and pass I have to put).
I tried again and it gave me this:
[10:59:43] SmartFTP v4.0.1131.0
[10:59:43] Resolving host name "(my website)"
[10:59:43] Connecting to (IP Adress) Port: 43594