FileS disappear from transfer queue without uploading.

Hi.

Firstly, I'd like to apologise, as it seems this problem has been posted about thirty-five thousand times before in one form or another, but I have to admit to being mostly baffled by the posts and their replies and any solutions that are in there.

I've been using SmartFTP for about 5 years, and happily got along without the transfer queue until it was made mandatory for all uploads not too long ago. At that point, I found that I would often have to upload files twice for the changes to be implemented on my websites. Since upgrading the version 3, I've found that with the majority of my uploads, I have to first delete the file I want to update and then upload it anew.

For some reason, when I drag the file from the folder on my computer and drop it into the remote folder I have open in SmartFTP, the file drops into the transfer queue, only to disappear a moment later without uploading itself. I have SmartFTP set to automatically overwrite files with common names, so as I said, if I want to simply upload a new version of a current file, the majority of the time I have to first delete the current file through the FTP and upload it fresh.

I'm quite saddened that SmartFTP will no longer be available as a free program, as it's the best and most user friendly I've found in my time online. I would be content to buy the program, but at this point I'm obviously not going to waste $40 on a program that barely works as it's supposed to, so I'd like to know that it can work before I fork out.

If anyone could give me a hand here, I would much appreciate it. Keeping in mind that I'm not particularly savvy with all the technical stuff over here.

If you need any information off me, just tell me what and I'll do my best to get it!

I do have that thing that a lot of people seem to include when they post, so I'll start with that?

+- System -----------------------------
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium Edition