Uploading problems

Hello, I'm new to this but not completely computer illiterate!

I followed the tutorial to upload from a file on my computer to my site. I am able to connect to the remote server. When I open a local browser the window opens on the right of my screen (on the tutorial the local browser opened on the left). When I highlight the files I want to upload and try and drag and drop them into the folder on my site it will not let me do this.

I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, I followed the tutuorial as best I could!

Please help!

Thank you,
Cynthia

Hello!
I'm kinda new to administrating a website through FTP also. I just recently took over the webmaster role for an existing website which is not my own. When I'm uploading new versions of the htm-pages, I get the following lines in FTP:

150 Opening BINARY mode data connection for textmall.css
[21:30:04] 725 bytes transferred. (22,8 kB/s) (31 ms)
[21:30:04] 226 Transfer complete.
[21:30:04] MDTM 20070706192956 textmall.css
[21:30:04] 550 20070706192956 textmall.css: No such file or directory
[21:30:04] SIZE textmall.css
[21:30:04] 213 725
[21:30:04] Transfer successful.

Code 550 says no such file or directory, but it still works. Why?

Also; earlier today I was updating the website and uploading the htm-page and everything was working fine. Then all of a sudden I couldn't upload the page because of no space on device (error code 452). I didn't do much updating to the page that should cause increase in size; just changing color on text and making a line break and so on. Does this mean that "my" space on "my" webhotel is getting to small? However, I deleted a small gif-file (1 kb), but it didn't seem to help any at all. Then all of a sudden, a minute or so later, it all worked fine again, and I was able to upload the htm-page again. Can anyone please explain this to me? I thought I got this, but now I feel like such a dummy... scared to do much updating since the website is not my own...