CHMOD

ok, im kinda new to this, so correct me if im wrong.

I want all types of users to view and download files a particular folder in my hosted server (which i have full read and write ftp access to). I do not want other users them to be able to view other files in parent directories. I think that the CHMOD will do this for me.

When i right click on the folder ("maps") and click on properties/CHMOD, i then can set properties. I set the permissions of the following number: 754. I click ok, and get this message:

[codebox][19:06:28] SITE CHMOD 754 Maps
[19:06:28] 500 'SITE CHMOD 754 Maps': command not understood[/codebox]

Your FTP server doesn't support CHMOD. If this FTP server is running on Windows CHMOD is probably not required.

Regards,
-Mat

Your FTP server doesn't support CHMOD. If this FTP server is running on Windows CHMOD is probably not required.

Regards,
-Mat

Thanks for your help. The server i have is running Windows NT. What other way could i do this if other than CHMOD? All i really need is a list of files in a particular directory, and the ability to download these files by clicking on the name of them. Reasonable security also required (eg by not being able to view files in the parent directory by clicking the link provided in most browsers).

P.S i actually do think the server supports CHMOD, but i am not sure. Emailing now.