replication bug?

Locked
rjb
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:39 pm

replication bug?

Post by rjb » Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:43 pm

I would like to report the following behavior. I have scheduled task to copy a directory on a server (and all its contents including subfolders) to a local directory. There is a directory on the server named “07-20-11 Order”. SmartFTP first copied this directory to my local drive as “07-29-11 Order”. In subsequent runs of this task this directory and all of its contents is being copied as “7-29-11 Order”, without the preceeding zero. If I delete either the “07…” or “7…” directories from my local drive, when the task runs it recreates the one I deleted. This seems very strage and is resulting in a 2GB folder being duplicated on my local machine.

mb
Posts: 12026
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2001 1:24 pm
Display name: Mat (SmartFTP)
Contact:

Re: replication bug?

Post by mb » Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:51 pm

It is hard to see why SmartFTP would randomly remove characters from file/folder name?

rjb
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:39 pm

Re: replication bug?

Post by rjb » Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:42 pm

I agree. It is hard to see why. But this is what is happening and why I posted to this forum. Do you have any ideas? Or is this the extent of support that is available on this product?

mb
Posts: 12026
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2001 1:24 pm
Display name: Mat (SmartFTP)
Contact:

Re: replication bug?

Post by mb » Fri Aug 05, 2011 3:34 pm

We are unable to reproduce the problem. Also as I said, I do not think the problem is caused by SmartFTP.

rjb
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:39 pm

Re: replication bug?

Post by rjb » Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:05 pm

Unfortunately, I think you are not correct about this. The only application involved is SmartFTP. There is a directory on the server, a directory on the client, and SFTP. SFTP is scheduled to start up through Windows scheduler and then runs a copy scheduled task on instantiation. I see no other software involved.

mb
Posts: 12026
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2001 1:24 pm
Display name: Mat (SmartFTP)
Contact:

Re: replication bug?

Post by mb » Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:40 pm

Please provide detailed instructions on how to reproduce the problem on a fresh installation of SmartFTP on a newly setup of Windows 7. It is important that you try to reproduce the problem with at least steps as possible (e.g. without the Windows task scheduler, etc).

rjb
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:39 pm

Re: replication bug?

Post by rjb » Mon Aug 08, 2011 2:54 pm

I'm sorry, but I am not going to reinstall Windows to debug this. Thank you anyway.

mb
Posts: 12026
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2001 1:24 pm
Display name: Mat (SmartFTP)
Contact:

Re: replication bug?

Post by mb » Mon Aug 08, 2011 2:56 pm

You can install it on a VM or install SmartFTP on different computer and try to reproduce the problem.
Last edited by mb on Mon Aug 08, 2011 2:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Locked