SmartFTP won't load

stefke
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:51 pm

SmartFTP won't load

Post by stefke » Mon May 23, 2011 2:04 pm

Hi all,

I searched the forum (and I googled the problem) before I ended up writing this post. This means I tried rebooting, reinstalling, cleaning the registry, deleting the SmartFTP key in the registry, ...

What's the problem I got? SmartFTP simply doesn't load anymore, no splash screen, no nothing. The problem occured after I tried to install the latest version and the program told me I had to update my maintenance. Funny thing is the website doesn't let me pay for it. After I select the 3 year option, fill out the form and click next I just get a blank screen. I tried it in 4 different browsers ... no cigar.

I thought the problem with the payment might be a server side problem and so I continued the installation. Result? No more SmartFTP... (Up till now I'm still not able to pay.)

So I have two questions for the SmartFTP team:

1. How can I pay with my Mastercad without getting the blank screen after I filled out the form?
2. How do I get my beloved SmartFTP up and running?

FYI. Win 7 - 64bit

Thank you for any suggestions.
Last edited by stefke on Mon May 23, 2011 2:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

stefke
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:51 pm

Re: SmartFTP won't load

Post by stefke » Mon May 23, 2011 2:17 pm

I don't know why I didn't try this before, but I decided to RDP to my pc at home and give the payment another try. Guess what. It worked. Maybe my office ip was temporarily blocked, I don't know.

Well at least we got half the problem solved now. I'll keep you posted on question number two.
Last edited by stefke on Mon May 23, 2011 2:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

stefke
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:51 pm

Re: SmartFTP won't load

Post by stefke » Mon May 23, 2011 2:39 pm

I noticed the process is showing up in the process window of the taskmanager for a short while (~ 5 to 10 secs), just to disappear.
Last edited by stefke on Mon May 23, 2011 2:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mb
Posts: 12026
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2001 1:24 pm
Display name: Mat (SmartFTP)
Contact:

Re: SmartFTP won't load

Post by mb » Mon May 23, 2011 2:47 pm

It usually means that the file is already on the server and therefore the transfer is skipped.

stefke
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:51 pm

Re: SmartFTP won't load

Post by stefke » Thu May 26, 2011 12:38 pm


mb
Posts: 12026
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2001 1:24 pm
Display name: Mat (SmartFTP)
Contact:

Re: SmartFTP won't load

Post by mb » Thu May 26, 2011 1:09 pm


stefke
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:51 pm

Re: SmartFTP won't load

Post by stefke » Sat May 28, 2011 7:56 am


Thanks for replying, but I tried that already as I explained in the original post.

Any other ideas?

mb
Posts: 12026
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2001 1:24 pm
Display name: Mat (SmartFTP)
Contact:

Re: SmartFTP won't load

Post by mb » Sat May 28, 2011 9:41 am

Try to run it on a different user account.

stefke
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:51 pm

Re: SmartFTP won't load

Post by stefke » Mon May 30, 2011 10:03 am

I tried running it under different user accounts but ... still no cigar.

Would the results of doing this bring us any closer to a solution?

mb
Posts: 12026
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2001 1:24 pm
Display name: Mat (SmartFTP)
Contact:

Re: SmartFTP won't load

Post by mb » Mon May 30, 2011 11:52 am

If SmartFTP crashes during startup, yes:
- Install the latest version of SmartFTP to ensure that you really have the latest version
- Then follow in the instructions in the article. Don't forget to enable this:
If SmartFTP crashes during startup. Download the ShowDebugMessage.zip archive and double click the ShowDebugMessage - Enable.reg.

What you can also try is to enable debug logging:
https://www.smartftp.com/support/kb/how- ... f2613.html

Locked