Installer: Desktop Icon Option

Got a good idea? Want to share it? Then please take a moment to submit it.
Locked
meisterkaiser
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 1:55 pm

Installer: Desktop Icon Option

Post by meisterkaiser » Mon Aug 02, 2010 2:57 pm

just a small request:

I don't want no desktop icon. Would it be possible to add a checkbox in the installer?
Or a store a setting in the registry?

It's rather annoying having to remove the icon after *every single* update.

mb
Posts: 12030
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2001 1:24 pm
Display name: Mat (SmartFTP)
Contact:

Re: Installer: Desktop Icon Option

Post by mb » Mon Aug 02, 2010 3:51 pm

There is currently no checkbox in the setup. Just delete the icon after the setup has completed.

meisterkaiser
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 1:55 pm

Re: Installer: Desktop Icon Option

Post by meisterkaiser » Mon Aug 02, 2010 5:17 pm

I know that there's no checkbox - that's why I'm requesting it :-)

I update frequently, so it's rather annoying having to remove the icon after *every single* update.

Turkdale
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 9:40 pm

Re: Installer: Desktop Icon Option

Post by Turkdale » Mon Sep 20, 2010 9:57 pm


I know that there's no checkbox - that's why I'm requesting it :-)

I update frequently, so it's rather annoying having to remove the icon after *every single* update.
And he's saying that you can delete the icon simply with 2 clicks ?
It's stupid to spend money to develop a checkbox for a desktop icon...

meisterkaiser
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 1:55 pm

Re: Installer: Desktop Icon Option

Post by meisterkaiser » Tue Sep 21, 2010 10:23 pm

Yes - I AM able to read ;-)

Usually I think it's a good idea to give the user choices with stuff like this and not force them into some rigid scheme (and SmartFTP does that with its flexible options). But you have a point here - I just didn't think a installer check box would be a big deal.

Now, if a 2 click icon removal is considered acceptable - then don't create a Desktop Icon at all.
Users who want it can actually create one themselves with about 2 clicks and need to do this ONLY ONCE (given that most likely their installation path will never change).

Locked