Resume a file

Got a good idea? Want to share it? Then please take a moment to submit it.
Post Reply
richhamilton
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 1:39 pm

Resume a file

Post by richhamilton » Thu Oct 01, 2009 8:21 am

I am downloading a large file: 2gig
It sometimes stops before completing the downlooad as it's so large. So I don't want to have to start over again.
How do I resume the download?

When I copy the file, I only get the option to overwrite or create a new one, not resume the download.

mb
Posts: 12029
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2001 1:24 pm
Display name: Mat (SmartFTP)
Contact:

Re: Resume a file

Post by mb » Thu Oct 01, 2009 8:26 am

Click on the "Use Automatic Rules" button.

But you shouldn't really need to do that because SmartFTP automatically resumsed the download.
Last edited by mb on Thu Oct 01, 2009 8:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

richhamilton
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 1:39 pm

Re: Resume a file

Post by richhamilton » Thu Oct 01, 2009 8:42 am

It didn't, when I clicked automatic rules, it just started again and I lost about 4 hours worth of download.
Is there anything else I need to set?

I am on version 3... do I need to upgrade?
Last edited by richhamilton on Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

mb
Posts: 12029
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2001 1:24 pm
Display name: Mat (SmartFTP)
Contact:

Re: Resume a file

Post by mb » Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:39 am

Please post the log from the transfer queue. To get it double click the file in the transfer queue. But again you don't need to upload the file again when the transfer aborts. The transfer queue automatically does this for you.

We always recommend to use the latest version of our products:
https://www.smartftp.com/download

Regards,
Mat

richhamilton
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 1:39 pm

Re: Resume a file

Post by richhamilton » Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:25 am

But it's not in the transfer queue anymore, as it was aborted.

mb
Posts: 12029
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2001 1:24 pm
Display name: Mat (SmartFTP)
Contact:

Re: Resume a file

Post by mb » Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:29 am

It only gets removed from the transfer queue when SmartFTP thinks its complete. And this check is very reliable.

richhamilton
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 1:39 pm

Re: Resume a file

Post by richhamilton » Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:01 pm

ok, I have installed the latest version and it's working now, many thanks

Post Reply