Jump to content


Photo

Dreamweaver Like Synchronize Remote Directory


Best Answer mb , 19 December 2013 - 06:27 PM

It's the default behavior. Only new/changed/modified are transferred. Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 hittjw

hittjw
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 13 April 2005 - 12:49 PM

First, SmartFTP is an excellent product that wups the pants off any other product I've tried to date. I move thousands of files a week and it's threaded queues save me time!

One feature that would put this product through the roof is a Dreamweaver like synchronization of remote directories.

If the software was only uploading newer files, I could save even more time by only uploading my changes. I'm moving huge trees of websites where only 10% of the content ever changes in a single update.

I like your tool because it doesn't lock up the interface while it's sending files. I can move files for several sites at the same time. Your tool gives me more control over bandwidth too -- i.e. 4 threads for site A, and unlimited for site B. Nice job of using favorites.

When do you think even a rudimentary "upload new only" or Dreamweaver like synchronization of remote directories?

Sincerely,

Justin

#2 tilmann

tilmann
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 27 April 2005 - 11:44 AM

I don't know Dreamweaver but I jsut switched from WSFtp which has a similar feature which I'am missing most at the moment:

For the transfer operations you can choose to only transmit files that are nonexistant, changed size, or have a newer modification date.

Because I really don't want to transfer the whole bunch of files I have all the time and I don't want to search for the 15 single files that changed manually I'd really like a feature like that for SFTP.

Yours, tilmann

#3 DavidJaymz

DavidJaymz
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Location:
    London (UK)
  • Interests:
    Space, Corvettes Music (Trading live concerts) Web

Posted 28 April 2005 - 09:58 AM

as posted over here. http://smartftp.com/...opic.php?t=8541

I'd also love this feature.

#4 Caleb Orbit

Caleb Orbit
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 19 December 2013 - 09:51 AM

I too would love this feature and i was just wondering if this feature was looked upon or implemented in any way?  I am looking for the same and there are very few tools which can do this.

 

Thanks



#5 mb

mb

    Developer

  • Administrators
  • 11520 posts
  • Gender:
    Male
  • Location:
    Worldwide

Posted 19 December 2013 - 06:27 PM   Best Answer

It's the default behavior. Only new/changed/modified are transferred.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users