Jump to content


Photo

v6 bld 2021: can't delete items

delete

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 TIM_I

TIM_I
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 22 May 2014 - 06:24 PM

using windows 8.1, smartftp v6 bld 2021.

 

everything seems normal, except after i transfer files from my source to my local drive, I normally highlite the files on the source and either press the red 'x' on the menu bar, or now the ribbon, or simply right mouse button over the highlited files and select 'delete'.

 

none of those ways work.  I cannot delete any files off the remote device.

 

this works fine in V5.

 

wondering if I'm doing this incorrectly.

 

Thanks



#2 mb

mb

    Developer

  • Administrators
  • 11816 posts
  • Gender:
    Male
  • Location:
    Worldwide

Posted 22 May 2014 - 09:35 PM

Does this happen with every server?

#3 TIM_I

TIM_I
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 22 May 2014 - 11:03 PM

well, the 2 I use are my NAS (WD mycloud), and Amazon S3, and smartftp fails on both.


Edited by TIM_I, 22 May 2014 - 11:04 PM.


#4 mb

mb

    Developer

  • Administrators
  • 11816 posts
  • Gender:
    Male
  • Location:
    Worldwide

Posted 22 May 2014 - 11:12 PM

Did you try it on a different computer as well?

#5 TIM_I

TIM_I
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 23 May 2014 - 12:53 AM

no, but i'm licensed on one other so i'll try that.



#6 TIM_I

TIM_I
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 23 May 2014 - 12:02 PM

I'm licensed for 2 machines, both windows 8.1 pro , it fails on both.



#7 mb

mb

    Developer

  • Administrators
  • 11816 posts
  • Gender:
    Male
  • Location:
    Worldwide

Posted 23 May 2014 - 03:56 PM

Do you see the delete confirmation dialog?

Is the "Display delete confirmation dialog" option in the Recyle Bin Properties enabled?
If not, can you enable it and see if the confirmation dialog is displayed.

#8 TIM_I

TIM_I
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 28 May 2014 - 03:30 PM

1) I installed 2024, just fyi.

2) I turned on recycle bin confirmation and i was able to delete in smartftp.

 

 

I don't use recycle bin notify, and this was not necessary under v5.  is there a way to return the functionality so that I don't have to have confirmation?

 

Not a big deal, but it's unnecessary in my workflow.

 

and thank you for the tip!



#9 mb

mb

    Developer

  • Administrators
  • 11816 posts
  • Gender:
    Male
  • Location:
    Worldwide

Posted 28 May 2014 - 04:08 PM

No it shouldn't be necessary, but with this information we can narrow down the problem.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: delete

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users