Jump to content


Photo

SmartFTP no longer keeps my edited files alive and connected...


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 ArchangelX

ArchangelX
  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 13 September 2011 - 10:33 PM

Previously while editing in Dreamweaver, etc...anytime I would edit a file with SmartFTP, it would keep the editing session alive so that when I make a change in DW and save, it would update the file I was working on.

Now, when I save in DW, it closes the file completly in SmartFTP. To continue editing it, I have to re-edit it in SmartFTP.

What setting do I need to change to enable this again, as it's higly annoying. Thanks.

#2 mb

mb

    Developer

  • Administrators
  • 11521 posts

Posted 13 September 2011 - 10:35 PM

Please post the system information from the menu: Help->About "System Information" dialog.

#3 ArchangelX

ArchangelX
  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 13 September 2011 - 10:52 PM

+- System -----------------------------
Microsoft Windows 7
Service Pack 1 (Build 7601)
CPU Speed : 2653 MHz
Total Memory : 6135 MB
Free Memory : 3500 MB
+- SmartFTP ---------------------------
Version : 4.0.1215.0
Time Stamp : 2011-09-10 20:52:32
Platform : x64
Id : 400069914
Maintenance : 2012-08-12
Days in use : 32
+- Language ---------------------------
en-US
+- Internet Explorer ------------------
Version : 9.0.8112.16421

#4 mb

mb

    Developer

  • Administrators
  • 11521 posts

Posted 13 September 2011 - 11:04 PM

Do you see the file being monitored in the Schedule pane (at the bottom of SmartFTP)?

#5 ArchangelX

ArchangelX
  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 13 September 2011 - 11:16 PM

Yes...but only up until I save in DW. Not sure what the deal is because I haven't done anything to DW...just updated to the latest SmartFTP.

#6 ArchangelX

ArchangelX
  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 13 September 2011 - 11:18 PM

Actually, just tried it, as soon as the file is opened in DW, it disappears from the transfer window. Okay, wait...what the heck...I was getting errors earlier when I'd work on a file, saying that it couldn't be found, now it's not doing that.

Also, did you change it? Before, it used to sit in the Transfer video, showing that I was working on it...now there's nothing there, but apparently, when I hit save just now, it still saved it and transferred it.

Edited by ArchangelX, 13 September 2011 - 11:20 PM.


#7 ArchangelX

ArchangelX
  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 13 September 2011 - 11:34 PM

Nopes...still doing it. CSS was fine...seems to take when I'm working on a CSS file. HTML gives me an error saying it's denied...

#8 mb

mb

    Developer

  • Administrators
  • 11521 posts

Posted 14 September 2011 - 12:33 AM

The file is in the Scheduler now. And when the scheduler detects that the file has changed a new item (upload file to server) will be added to the transfer queue.

#9 ArchangelX

ArchangelX
  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 14 September 2011 - 07:14 AM

Alright, I think I might have just needed to restart the computer...I'll watch to see if it happens again. It seems to be okay now.