Nothing shows on my homepage

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Eurydice

Eurydice
  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 03 May 2011 - 11:09 PM

Please help! I'm totally new at this, but thought I followed the SmartFTP tutorials, and everything happened exactly as they said with all the icons ending up in the remote browser window. BUT when I go the web address I used, I only get the message:

"Temporary homepage for account '...'
To replace this homepage, use your ftp account to replace the file "index.html" in your root directory. Note: your ftp user name is '...', and your ftp password is the password you supplied during the creation of your account".

I replaced the actual account and user names in the message with '...' for confidentiality reasons.

I'm using a grapevine web address and trying to upload a family tree web page output by the Legacy family history software. Maybe a bit complicated for a first attempt at a web page :o

#2 mb

mb

Developer

• Administrators
  • 11521 posts

Posted 03 May 2011 - 11:16 PM

You need to replace the index.html/index.htm/default.htm etc with your start page.

#3 Eurydice

Eurydice
  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 03 May 2011 - 11:19 PM

You need to replace the index.html/index.htm/default.htm etc with your start page.

#4 Eurydice

Eurydice
  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 03 May 2011 - 11:23 PM

Wow! Thanks for incredibly quick response! Unfortunately I don't know what or where those are. I only got this far because of the really excellent illustrated step by step tutorials.
Is there another tutorial with pictures that explains?

#5 Eurydice

Eurydice
  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 03 May 2011 - 11:38 PM

#6 Eurydice

Eurydice
  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 03 May 2011 - 11:48 PM